Using DA to achieve censorship resistance, i.e. moving tx mempool to DA?

(Context. I have raised this question when talking with John Adler and Josh Bowen during ETHDenver. I’m not an expert on this subject so I’m summarizing the proposal in a short post here to facilitate further discussion.)

The problem. In the current architecture of roll-ups, a sequencer collect and order user transactions, in a “mempool”, before executing them and posting valid transactions to the DA layer. With a centralized sequencer, the system is not censorship resistant since the sequencer can selectively filter transactions.

Current solution. To add censorship resistance, we could decentralize roll-up sequencers, which seems to be the approach that many roll-ups are planning to take. However, this approach moves the architecture of roll-ups closer towards that of side chains.

Potential solution? What if we use the DA layer to achieve censorship resistant by having users directly post to DA layer their transaction requests? This can be seen as moving the mempool onto the DA layer. The benefit is that execution only have to be held accountable for the validity of execution, which can be done via zk or fraud proofs. Hence, we no longer need to decentralize sequencers / execution layer.

Some immediate questions:

1. Will Celestia DA layer be cheap enough for this to make sense?
  2. How can the execution layer prioritize txns when posting rate is higher than execution rate? Could DA layer keep a priority queue of txns based on proposed fees?
7 Likes